Romanian National Team Chess Championship, Romanian Superliga in Open and Women section for 2017, is currently ongoing in Baile Govora resort and takes place from 11th-19th November.

unnamed (4)

The best Romanian chess players Constantin Lupulescu, Mircea Parligras, Levente Vajda, Andrei Istratescu, Bogdan Deac compete together with top world players such as: Wang Hao, Yuriy Kuzubov, Alexei Shirov, Viktor Erdos, and in Women section: Irina Bulmaga, Corina Peptan, Luminita Cosma, Alina L’Ami, together with foreign chess stars Bela Khotenashvili, Elisabeth Paehtz, Deimante Cornette.

unnamed (3)

The defending Champions in Open section for 2016 is C.S. AEM Timisoara and C.S. Politehnica Iasi in Women section. After five played rounds, the sole leader in Open section is CS Stud. Medicina Timisoara with all the victories in their matches, and  in Women section CS Politehnica – Aqua Carpatica Iasi and CSM Bucuresti currently tie for the first place with the same score of 8 match points.

Pairings, Results, Standings

unnamed (1)

The Romanian Superliga is played as a Robin round tournament in both sections with time control 90 minutes for 40 moves, followed by 30 minutes to the end of the game, plus a 30-second increment starting from move one.

Over 20 games are live transmitted, and live broadcast of the games can be followed through the official website of the Championship or here.

Official Website

Tournament Organizer: IO Elena Cristian
Arbiters: IA Alin Campeanu, Rudolf Dombi, Sebastian Volcinsche
Tournament Director: IA Daniel Candea