The European Amateur Chess Championship 2015 was held in Kaunas, the second city of Lithuania, from the 8th of August (arrival) to the 17th of August (departure) 2015.

The organizer and Tournament Director was Prof. Donatas Pilinkus (IO), President of the Kaunas Chess Federation, under the auspices of the Lithuanian Chess Federation.

Lukas Jonkus (LTU 1853) became the winner of the Open section, scoring 7.5 points, the same as Paulo Fanha (POR 1890). But thanks to better tie-break, gold went to the Lithuanian. Bronze went to Eugenijus Zygmanta (LTU 1947) who was sole third with 7 points.

Lukas Jonkus

Lukas Jonkus was also a winner of the Blitz event, which was held on 14th August. He triumphed with 7.5 points ahead of Kristina Sulikiene with 7 points, and David Moshenberg from Israel with 6.5 points.

Saule Gailiunaite (LTU 1785) triumphed at the European Women’s Amateur Chess Championship with 7 points, silver went to the Irish WCM Diana Mirza (1856) also with 7 points and worse tie-breaks, and Kristina Sulikiene (LTU 1926) came third with 6.5 points.

Saulė GAILIŪNAITĖ winner

This Championship was played according to the Swiss Paring System in two sections. The Women’s section started with 24 players. In the Open section 88 players (86 men and 2 girls) took part. The time control was 90 minutes for the first 40 moves followed by additional 30 minutes for the rest of the game + 30 seconds for each move from the first one.

The tournament was played in the Palace of Army Officers.

The total money prize fund was € 4.000.

More info at the official website of the Championship

Photos by Justina Dobravalskytė