Karen Asrian Memorial 2020

The 13th Karen Asrian Memorial is organized annually by Armenian Chess Federation and will take place from 20th-30th June 2020, in Yerevan.

Karen Asrian Memorial is an Open Swiss system tournament, in 9 rounds, with time control: 90 minutes for the first 40 moves + 30 minutes for the rest of the game with 30 seconds increment starting from the first move.

The playing venue of the tournament is Tigran Petrosian Chess House.

The total prize fund of the event crosses 20.000 EUR, with around 4.000 EUR reserved for the Winner of the event. Besides 15 top ranked players, the best player U16 (open and girls), best player U14 (open and girls), best player U12 (open and girls), best players rated less than 2100, 2200, the best Women and Senior players will be awarded with special prizes.

It is recommended for participants to register by May 1st, 2020.

Karen Asrian Memorial 2020- Official regulations

Contact information:

Organizing Committee:
Tournament Director:
Mr. Hrachik Tavadian, FM, IO.
Tel: + 374 10 52 64 64

Ms. Nune Vardanyan, IA.
Tel: + 374 10 55 36 30,
E-mail: asrianmemorial@gmail.com

Karen Asrian (1980-2008) was Armenian Grandmaster, a three-time Armenian champion (1999, 2007, 2008) and a member of the gold medal-winning Armenian team in the 37th Chess Olympiad, where he competed on the third board of the Winning team.