European Small Nations Team Chess Championship 2021 starts in Sliema, Malta

The 7th European Small Nations Team Chess Championship 2021 opens today in Sliema, Malta, taking place from 27th November – 5th December in the AX Victoria Hotel.

The event is supported by European Chess Union and will be opened by the ECU President Mr. Zurab Azmaiparashvili.

Nine federations (Andorra, Cyprus, Faroe Islands, Guernsey, Jersey, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Malta, and Monaco) participate in the event and the 10th ESNA Women’s Team completed the starting list instead of San Marino. Each team consists of four players and one reserve player.

The exact starting list and pairings of all 9 rounds will be known after the Technical meeting and Drawing of lots which will be held today in the William Shakespeare Suite as the playing venue of the event.

Starting rank list and pairings per each round can be followed here.

The 7th Small Nations Team Chess Championship 2021 will be played in 9 rounds, round-robin system, with time control: 90 minutes for 40 moves plus 30 minutes for the rest of the game, plus 30 seconds increment for every move played starting from the first move.

The Winner of the event will become the European Small Nations Team Champion for 2021, while the top three ranked teams will be awarded with medals and prizes. Also, the best individual players per each board will be awarded according to regulations of the event.

Official regulations and details about the event can be found on the Official Website.