The 3rd edition of the European Small Nations Individual Chess Championship opens tomorrow and will take place from 13th-23rd April, in Klaksvík, Faroe Islands.

Denmark_Houses_Mountains_497519_2880x1800The event will be played as a twelve-player round-robin event with time control 90 minutes for the first 40 moves, followed by 30 minutes for the rest of the game with an increment of 30 seconds per move from move one.

The total prize fund of the event is 4.500 EUR, with 2.000 EUR reserved for the Winner of the Championship.

Faroe Islands 19

The participants of the event are as followed:

Andorra – IM Robert Aloma Vidal (2440)

Cyprus – FM Paris Klerides (2183)

Cyprus – FM Stelios Theocharous (2099)

Faroe Islands – GM Helgi Dam Ziska (2549)

Faroe Islands – FM Olaf Berg (2235)

Guernsey – CM Peter J. Kirby (1985)

Jersey – CM Krzysztof Belzo (2103)

Liechtenstein – Renato Frick (2062)

Luxembourg – IM Fred Berend (2357)

Monaco – GM Igor Efimov (2407)

The starting rank list of players is available here.


The 1st round of the event will start on Saturday 14th of April 2018.

Schedule and the regulations of the Championship are available on the Official Website of the event.

Official Website of the Championship