Polonia Wroclaw Chess Club, under the patronage of the European Chess Union and the Polish Chess Federation organizes the European Rapid & Blitz Chess Championship 2014, from 19-21 December, 2014, in Wroclaw/Poland.

The Championship will be held under the auspices of Rafal Dutkiewicz – the President of the city of Wroclaw and will bear the name the 23rd Adolf Anderssen Memorial.

Blitz Championship takes place tomorrow, on 19th December, and Rapid Championship will take place after the Blitz, on 20-21 December, 2014.

Mr. Theodoros Tsorbatzoglou, ECU Secretary General and Mr. Petr Pisk, ECU Tournament Director will be present at the opening ceremony of the Championship.

This year European Rapid & Blitz Chess Championship is marked by a record number of participants: more than 700 players in Blitz and more than 800 in Rapid Championship. Great interest only proves the Polish Chess Federation and Poland as great hosts.

Championships Office will be open on Thursday at the Hotel Orbis from 2.00 pm to 7.00 pm and on Friday at the Centennial Hall from 9:00 am.

The final closing of the start list (and pairing the first round) – on Friday at 10:00 am.

The official venue will be the Centennial Hall, and the official tournament hotel is Hotel ORBIS Wroclaw, Wroclaw, which is located 4 km from the playing hall.

The minimum prize fund for Blitz is 10000 €, while for rapid is 20000 € + prizes worth € 2000.

For more information you can contact the tournament Director Mr. Artur Czyz on e-mail:

Official website of the Championship