European Amateur Chess Champions 2022 announced in Zagreb

The European Amateur Chess Championship 2022 took place from 14th-21st August 2022 in Zagreb, Croatia. The event was played in three rating categories: U2300, U2000 and U1700, 9 rounds, swiss system. More than 170 players from more than 20 European federations competed in the Championship and the best ranked were crowned the 2022 European Amateur Chess Champions.

17-year-old Novosel Lovro (CRO, 2212) emerged as the sole winner of the U2300 section with score of 7 points. After a slow start with two losses in the first five rounds, Novosel Lovro won four consecutive games to become the European Amateur Chess Champion of the U2300 category. Three players tied for silver with 6.5 points, each. Tiebreaks criteria determined Babic Zvonko (CRO, 2180) silver medalist, Vujec Ivan (CRO, 2192) came third and Krikunov Dmitry (FIDE, 2202) finished the event in the fourth place.

With score of 8 points, Celik Benrkay (TUR, 1878) won the U2000 section. He was a full point ahead of Tomasko Miljenko (CRO, 1935) who came second with 7 points. Three players were in a tie for the bronze medal scoring 6.5 points, each, but 13-year-old Pehar Borna (CRO, 1886) had best tiebreaks and came third.

Marfat Ivan (CRO) scored 8 points to triumph in the U1700 category. Tabakovski Dino (MKD, 1639) clinched silver medal with 7 points, while four players tied for the third place scoring 6.5 points, each. Pazarcioglu Ilker (TUR, 1428) had best tiebreaks criteria and won bronze medal.

The best ranked female players are:
U2300 section: Ruzic Pia Marie (SLO, 1996)
U2000 section: Golub Nikolina (CRO, 1818)
U1700 section: Karij Petra (CRO, 1452)

Final rankings can be found here.

Detailed information about the event can be found on the official website.

Photographs (from the venue) by: Luka Rifelj

The Closing ceremony of the event took place by the end of the last round with the ECU Vice President Mr. Alojzije Jankovic and the President of the Mitropa Chess Association Mr. Marco Biagioli joining the awarding ceremony.

Photo gallery from the Closing ceremony: