Duda Jan-Krzysztof wins European Blitz Chess Championship 2021

European Blitz Chess Championship 2021 took place on 17th of December in Katowice, Poland.

After 22 rounds, Duda Jan-Krzysztof (POL, 2792) became the sole Winner of the event, scoring 18 points.

Klekowski Maciej (POL, 2444) scored 17.5 points to claim silver.

Eight players tied for the third place with score of 16.5 points each: Balog Imre (HUN, 2678), Demchenko Anton (RUS, 2531), Schneider Ilja (GER, 2524), Tazbir Marcin (POL, 2518), Bernadskiy Vitaliy (UKR, 2500), Teclaf Pawel (POL, 2431), Dragnev Valentin (AUT, 2396) and Keinanen Toivo (FIN, 2358).

Tiebreaks criteria decided that the European Champion in Reykjavik 2021 Demchenko Anton takes bronze medal.

The total prize fund of the event was 11.000 EUR, with 2.000 EUR reserved for the European Blitz Chess Champion 2021. Besides the regular prizes for the best ranked 20 players, the best Juniors, Seniors, Women, and best players of different rating categories were awarded with special prizes.

The best female player of the European Blitz Chess Championship 2021 came Sliwicka Alicja (POL, 2155) with score of 14.5 points. Klaudia Kulon (POL, 2265) was second with 14 points, having better tiebreak criteria than Pavlidou Ekaterini (GRE, 2177) who had the same score but finished as the third ranked woman player.

Final rankings can be found here.

Official Website of the event