The 15th European Senior Chess Championship for Men and Women will be held in Eretria, Greece, from 28th April untill 8th May, 2015. The official venue is he conference center of the 4-star “Eretria Village” Hotel, which is near the ancient city of Eretria.

Eretria Village

The Championship is open to all players representing ECU Chess Federations who have been born in the year 1965 or earlier. There is also no limit in the number of participants per federation. Applications have to be sent by the National Federations or to be approved by the National Federations.

The Championship will be played in two categories: category SENIOR 50+ and category SENIOR 65+, Men and Women separately. If there are less than 10 participants in the category 65+ then there will be only one Women tournament under category 50+ with separate prizes. If in total the Women participants are less than 10 they will play in the Open tournaments with separate prizes.


The European Senior Chess Championship will be played according to the Swiss System in 9 rounds, with the time control 40 moves in 90 minutes, followed by 30 minutes for the rest of the game+ 30 seconds increment per move, starting from move one.

Total prize fund of the Championship is 8.000 Euros, and the first 3 places will be awarded with cups and medals. Prizes will be equally shared among the players with the same score.

The top 3 players from each category of the Euroepean Senior Championship 2015 are qualified with personal rights (free board and lodging in single rooms) to the World Senior Championship 2016.

The current registrations can be seen here

For all information you can contact the Tournament Director: FIDE IO Nikos Kalesis

tel.: (+30) 6938326161, fax: (+30) 2641500112

e-mail: euroseniors2015@gmail.com

Regulations for download: European Seniors 2015_inv