Norway Chess 2022 kicks off

The 10th edition of the Norway Chess kicks of today with the Blitz tournament. The event takes place from 30 May – 10 June in Stavanger with participation of 10 world class players.

The field is headlined by reigning World Chess Champion Magnus Carlsen and includes: Wesley So, Shakhriyar Mammedyarov, Anish Giri, Teimour Radjabov, Viswanathan Anand, Maxime Vachier-Lagrave, Veselin Topalov, Wang Hao and Aryan Tari who replaced Richard Rapport after his withdrawal.

The pairings of the main event will be announced after the Blitz tournament, which will be played on Monday in 9 rounds, round robin. The Winner of the Blitz tournament will choose his starting number for the round-robin classical event.

The time control of the main classical event will be: 120 minutes on the clock with an increment of 10 seconds after move 4. If the classical game ends in a draw, then the players will play an Armageddon meaning that each round will have five winners.

Players will get the following points per round:

  • Victory main game: 3 points
  • Loss main game: 0 points
  • Draw main game & victory Armageddon: 1.5 points
  • Draw main game & loss Armageddon: 1 point

Schedule Norway Chess 2022:

All the games will be broadcasted live and can be followed through the official website of the event.

Photos @Norway Chess
Official website of the event