The last stage of European Youth Grand Prix Series of tournaments, 2017 and 2018, starts today and takes place from 14th-26th May, in Kirishi, Russia.

The Opening Ceremony of the final leg of the European Youth Grand Prix Series under the name “World Youth Stars” dedicated to the memory of Vanya Somov took place yesterday with various performances of local dance groups and with the draw of lots for the participants starting numbers.


The event is played as 12 players Robin-Round event, with the participation of many of the world strongest and talented young chess players,.Time control is: 1 hour and 30 minutes (plus 30 seconds for each move made) until the end of the game.


The list of players is as followed:

  • IM Lobanov Sergei (RUS, 2515)
  • FM Kacharava Nikolozi (GEO, 2392)
  • FM Shubin Kirill (RUS, 2317)
  • GM Shevchenko Kirill (UKR, 2569)
  • IM Pultinevicius Paulius (LTU, 2402)
  • IM Zarubitski Viachaslau (BLR, 2435)
  • GM Hakobyan Aram (ARM, 2542)
  • IM Sargsyan Shant (ARM, 2489)
  • Kuznetsov Dmitriy (10 years old boy from Russia)
  • FM Murzin Volodar(RUS, 2006)
  • Nesterov Arseniy (RUS, 2395)
  • FM Gharibyan Mamikon (ARM, 2269)


The playing venue is KINEF Palace of Culture, and all the information, pairings, results and games will be available on the Official Website of the Championship.

The total prize fund of the event is 7200 euros.

Official Website of Championship

The European Youth Grand Prix is a series of three tournaments hold over two calendar years 2017 and 2018. The event is held under the patronage of the ECU and gathers the best young and talented youth players within Europe.