FIDE World Rapid & Blitz Chess Championships 2021 start in Warsaw, Poland

The FIDE Women’s and Open Rapid&Blitz Chess Championship 2021 start in Warsaw, Poland.

More than 180 players from 46 federations registered for the 3Open event and more than 100 players coming from 30 different federations will participate in Women’s events.

FIDE World Rapid Chess Championships 2021 are first on the schedule, taking place from 26th-28th December.

The 2021 FIDE Open World Chess Championship will be played in 13 rounds, Swiss system, and Women’s Championship will be played in 11 rounds. Time control will be 15 minutes + 10 seconds of increment.

The very strong battlefield of Rapid Open Championship is led by reigning World Chess Championship Carlsen Magnus (NOR, 2892) who aims to defend the throne in all three formats of World Championships (classical, rapid and blitz). Among the top seeds are also: Nakamura Hikaru (USA, 2836), Duda Jan Krzysztof (POL, 2801), Nepomniachtchi Ian (CFR, 2798), Vachier-Lagrave Maxime (FRA, 2773), Caruana Fabiano (USA, 2770), Giri Anish (NED, 2767), Grischuk Alexander (CFR, 2763), Karjakin Sergey (CFR, 2757) and Rapport Richard (HUN, 2750).

The top seeds of Women’s Rapid Championship are: Lagno Kateryna (CFR, 2545), Goryachkina Aleksandra (CFR, 2521), Kosteniuk Alexandra (CFR, 2515), Muzychuk Mariya (UKR, 2501), Gunina Valentina (CFR, 2499), Muzychuk Anna (UKR, 2497), Koneru Humpy (IND, 2483), Harika Dronavalli (IND, 2475), Dzagnidze Nana (GEO, 2471) and Abdumalik Zhansaya (KAZ, 2449).

Magnus Carlsen upon arrival in Warsaw. Photo by Anastasia Karlovich

FIDE World Blitz Women’s and Open Chess Championships 2021 follow from 29th-30th December, being played in the same venue- PGE Narodowy Stadium.

Carlsen Magnus (NOR, 2892) is the top seed of the Blitz event, followed by: Nakamura Hikaru (USA, 2884), Artemiev Vladislav (CFR, 2830), Firouzja Alireza (FRA, 2810), Caruana Fabiano (USA, 2803), Duda Jan-Krzysztof (POL, 2792), Nepomniachtchi Ian (CRF, 2792), Vachier-Lagrave Maxime (FRA, 2787), Giri Anish (NED, 2778) and other world top Grandmasters.

Lagno Kateryna (CFR, 2592), Muzychuk Anna (UKR, 2509), Koneru Humpy (IND, 2483), Stefanova Antoaneta (BUL, 2477), Kosteniuk Alexandra (CFR, 2475), Gunina Valentina (CFR, 2452), Goryachkina Aleksandra (CFR, 2441), Michna Marta (GER, 2433), Paehtz Elisabeth (GER, 2412) and Bodnaruk Anastasia (CFR, 2406) are the top 10 on the starting list of Women’s Blitz Championship.

Starting lists of both events can be found on the official website of the event.

The official venue of the event- PGE Narodowy Stadium

The total prize fund of the events will be 1.000.000$, with 350.000$ for Open Rapid and 350.000$ for Open Blitz championships, while the prize fund of Women’s Rapid and Blitz Championships counts 150.000$ for each competition.

More details and official regulations of the events can be found on the Official website.