European Women’s Chess Championship 2021 starts

European Women’s Chess Championship 2021 starts on Monday, 9th of August in Iasi, Romania.

117 players from 29 European federations registered for the event, with Georgian trio top seeding the starting list: Batsiashvili Nino (GEO, 2491), Javakhishvili Lela (GEO, 2473), Khotenashvili Bela (GEO, 2463). The battlefield is completed with Girya Olga (RUS, 2448), Bodnaruk Anastasia (RUS, 2446), Mammadzada Gunay (AZE, 2443), Bulmaga Irina (ROU, 2440), Arabidze Meri (GEO, 2432), Badelka Olga (BLR, 2418), Osmak Julija (UKR, 2418), and in total 104 titled players, among whom 5 Grandmasters, 21 International masters, 22 Women Grandmasters, and 18 Women International masters.

Starting list of the players

Winners of European Individual Women’s Chess Championship 2019, Antalya/Turkey

The event will be played in 11 rounds, Swiss system, with time control 90 minutes for 40 moves plus 30 minutes for the rest of the game with an increment of 30 seconds per move, starting from /move one.

The total prize fund of the event is 60.000 EUR.

The 21st European Individual Women Chess Championship is a qualification event for the FIDE Women’s World Cup 2022 or 2023. According to the FIDE regulations and the ECU Board decision, at least 10 players will qualify. The number of qualification spots may be increased with a decision prior to the start of the Championship.

Official regulations and detailed information about the event can be found here.

Live games and coverage though the official page of the event: