European Women Chess Championship 2020 will take place from 31st October – 12th November in Mamaia, Romania.

The event is organized by Romanian Chess Federation, Constanta County Chess Association and Mind Games & Events Sport Association, under the auspices of European Chess Union.

The 21st European Individual Chess Championship for women is open for all players representing the Chess Federations members of the European Chess Union, regardless of their title or rating. Applications shall be sent by national federations. There is no limit of participants per federation.

The event will be played in 11 rounds, Swiss system, with time control: 90 minutes for 40 moves plus 30 minutes for the rest of the game with an increment of 30 seconds per move, starting from move one.

Official venue and the Hotel of the Championship will be 4* Ramada Hotel, located in Mamaia, Romania.

The total prize fund of the event is 60.000 EUR, with 10.000 EUR reserved for the Winner of the event.

The 21st European Women Individual Chess Championship is a qualification event for the FIDE Women’s World Cup 2022. According to new and recently published FIDE regulations defining for 2022 a 3-years cycle (2020, 2021, 2022), and the ECU Board previous decisions, at least 8 players will qualify.  Next ECU Board meeting (end of January 2020) may decide and announce additional spots taking into consideration the new FIDE regulations.

Detailed information can be found at Official Website of the event.

Official Website of the event.,


Contact information:

Tournament Director:
IO Elena Cristian +40 723309101

Romanian Chess Federation:  
GM Constantin Ionescu, General Secretary,,

European Women Individual Chess Championship 2020- Regulations