European Team Chess Championship 2021 opens tomorrow

The European Team Chess Championship 2021 opens tomorrow in Terme Catez, Slovenia.

39 teams coming from 38 European federations registered for the Open event, while the Women’s Championship features 31 teams coming from 30 federations.

European Team Chess Championship 2021 battlefield is led by teams of: Russia (Average rating of players 2720), Azerbaijan (Average rating of players 2717), France (Average rating of players 2708), Poland (Average rating of players 2678) and England (Average rating of players 2671).

European national teams will be represented by top European Grandmasters such as: Anish Giri (NED, 2774), Alireza Firouzja (FRA, 2770), Maxime Vachier-Lagrave (FRA, 2766), Shakhriyar Mamedyarov (AZE, 2765), Teimour Radjabov (AZE, 2763), Jan-Krzysztof Duda (POL, 2756), Sergey Karjakin (RUS, 2743), Michael Adams (ENG, 2714) and others.

Starting rank list of players and teams can be found here.

Hotel Terme Catez, official hotel of the event

Top seeds of the European Women’s Team Chess Championship 2021 are teams of: Russia (Average rating of players 2538), Georgia (Average rating of players 2446), Poland (Average rating of players 2410), Ukraine (Average rating of players 2400) and Azerbaijan (Average rating of players 2383).

The top-rated players of the event are: Goryachkina Aleksandra (RUS, 2604), Lagno Kateryna (RUS, 2550), Dzagnidze Nana (GEO, 2524), Shuvalova Polina (RUS, 2515), Paehtz Elisabeth (GER, 2485), Kashlinskaya Alina (RUS, 2482), Gunina Valentina (RUS, 2480) and Mammadzada Gunay (AZE, 2459).

Starting rank lists can be found on the following link.

Both events will be played in 9 rounds, Swiss system, with the time control of 90 minutes for 40 moves + 30 minutes for the rest of the game, with 30 seconds increment for every move played starting from the move on.

The Opening ceremony of the event will be held within two parts due to health restrictions. The first part is scheduled for tomorrow with attendance of Team captains, delegates and officials, and it will start at 20:00 CEST. The second part of the Opening ceremony, for all the participants, will take place before the first round, on Friday, starting from 14:30 CEST.
The event kicks off with the first round on Friday, 12th of November from 15:00 CEST.

The live broadcast of the games can be followed through the official website of the event.