European Small Nations Individual Chess Championship 2024 started in Andorra

The 5th edition of the European Small Nations Individual Chess Championship and the 2nd edition of the European Small Nations Women’s Chess Championship have started in Andorra la Vella. The events are supported by European Chess Union.

The events are simultaneously taking place from 22nd-30th June. Both Championships are played as a 10-player round-robin tournaments, with the players representing the following federations: Andorra, Liechtenstein, Cyprus, Luxembourg, Faroe Islands, Malta, Guernsey, Monaco, Jersey, and San Marino. The time control of the events is 90 minutes for 40 moves, plus 30 minutes until the end of the game, with 30-second increment for each move.

The event was officially opened on Saturday, with Mr.  Sergi González, consol major of Andorra la Vella, addressing the players. Before the start of the round, the FEVA President Mr. Francesc Rechi, the tournament director Mr. Joan A. Obregon, and the chief arbiter Mrs. Alexandra Muratet welcomed the players.

Most of the favourites lived up to the expectations in the first round, and only one game in each section finished in a draw. FM Serbi Ribera Veganzones (AND, 2341), Luitjen Akselsson Apol (FAI, 2251), CM Colin Pace (MLT, 2184) and Renato Frich (LIE, 1907) scored victories in the Open section and co-lead the event. The third seeded GM Igor Efimov (MNC, 2312) drew against IM Fred Berend (LUX, 2235).

WGM Elvira Berend (LUX, 2230), Gerda Nevska (GCI, 1872), Ariadna De La Riva (AND, 1774), and WFM Andrea Henderson De La Fuente (AND, 1966) were victorious in the Women’s tournament, and the draw was seen in the game between WFM Filipina Thornton (MLT, 1787) and WFM Christianna Markidou (CYP, 1676).

All results, pairings and rankings can be found here.

Live games are available on the following link.

Detailed information about the event and more photos can be found through the official website of the event.