The European Senior Chess Championship, organized by Adolf Anderssen Foundation and Poland Chess Federation, under the auspices of European Chess Union, will be held in Jastrzebia Gora, Poland from 16th-26th October 2020.

European Senior Chess Championship 2020 will be played in two age categories: 50+ and 65+, Open and Women’s sections separately. Women’s section will be merged with Open category if less than 9 players register for the European Senior Women Chess Championship 2020.

The championship is based on Swiss system in accordance with the ECU Tournament Rules and FIDE Rules of Chess. The time control will be 90 minutes for 40 moves plus 30 minutes for the rest of the game with an increment of 30 seconds per move, starting from move one.

Official Hotel and venue of the Championship is Hotel VIS, located in Jastrzebia Gora.

Th event is open to all players representing ECU Chess Federations who have been born in the year 1970 or earlier, regardless of their title or rating. There is also no limit in the number of participants per federation. Applications have to be sent by the National federations or to be approved by the National federations.

All the applications shall be sent to following email address:

Total prize fund of the event will be 8.000 EUR. Also, according to FIDE Handbook D.03.7, top 3 ranked players from each category of the European Senior Championship 2020 will qualifie with personal rights (free board and lodging) to the World Senior Championship 2021.

Official website of the event will be:

Organisers Contacts

Aleksander Sokolski email address:
FIDE International Organiser

European Senior Chess Championship 2020- Invitation