Polonia Wroclaw Chess Club, under the patronage of the European Chess Union and the Polish Chess Federation organizes the European Rapid & Blitz Chess Championship 2014, from 19-21 December, 2014, in Wroclaw/Poland.

The Championship will be held under the auspices of Rafal Dutkiewicz – the President of the city of Wroclaw and will bear the name the 23rd Adolf Anderssen Memorial.

Blitz Championship will be held on 19th December, and Rapid Championship will take place on 20th and 21st December, 2014.

The minimum prize fund for Blitz is 10000 €, while for rapid is 20000 € + prizes worth € 2000.

The official venue will be the Centennial Hall, and the official tournament hotel is Hotel ORBIS Wroclaw, Wroclaw, which is located 4 km from the playing hall.

The regulations for download can be found below, or at the official website

European Rapid Chess Championship 2014_Regulations

European BLITZ Chess Championship 2014_Regulations

522 players in Rapid and 433 players in Blitz are registered so far, and there are two more days for the registration.

Applications should be sent using the form at the championships website, but no later than on the 20th of November 2014, which is the registration deadline. The application must contain the player’s name, rating, birth date.

The Chief Arbiter of the Championship will be IA Aleksander Sokolski from Poland.

For more information you can contact the tournament Director Mr. Artur Czyz on e-mail: or you can visit the official website of the Championship