European Union Youth Chess Championship 2016 starts in three days in Kouty nad Desnou/Czech Republic, in the organization of the Czech Chess Federation, under the auspices of the European Chess Union.

The official venue of the event is the Cultural Hall of Hotel Dlouhe Strane Kouty nad Desnou.

Medalists of category B08

14 European Chess Federations confirmed the participation of their representatives in 4 age categories: U8, U10, U12 and U14. The federations participating are Belgium, Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Hungary, Ireland, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, Romania and Slovakia.

Medalists of category G08

Boys and girls will play in the same tournament within their age category, but with two separate scores.

The first three players from each category will receive championship trophies, medals and diplomas. Every player of each category will receive commemorative championship medal and a diploma. Furthermore, players will receive prizes. The winners of each tournament receive a laptop, other medalists will receive a digital clock. Prizes will receive at least the first six players of each category. The total value of the prize fund will be at least 6.000 Euro. Girls in each category will be evaluated separately.

Medalists of category B10

The first 30 boards of each tournament will be broadcast online, and on-line transmission will include at least 120 games. Webcast will be screened in the hall of the hotel. Viewers will be able to watch webcast online at the organizer’s website.

The event will be played according to the Swiss System in 9 rounds, with time control 90 minutes for the whole game + 30 seconds increment per move.

Report from EU Youth Championship 2015

Official Website