The jubilee 100th Irish Chess Championship will take place from 31st July – 8th August in Dublin, Ireland.

The event will be played in 9 rounds, Swiss system, with time control: 105 minutes for the whole game + 35 seconds of an increment per each move, starting from move one. The total prize fund of the event will be 4.000 EUR, with 1.500 EUR reserved for the 100th Irish Chess Champion!

The event is open to all the players listed as members of Irish Chess Union, with rating above 1900 (FIDE or ICU).

For now, 34 players have registered for the event and the battlefield is led by: IM Sam E. Collins (2439), FM Conor E. Murphy (2419), GM Alexander Baburin (2369), IM David Fitzsimons (2343), FM Conor O’Donnell (2311), IM Mark Quinn (2307)…

Detailed information about the event can be found here.

Promo material – 100th Irish Chess Championship

This year the Irish Chess Union will be hosting a landmark event in Irish chess history: the 100th Irish Chess Championship. The first ever Irish Championship dates back all the way to 1865; with 75 consecutive championships held since 1946; including last year with Covid-19 precautions.

Over the past five years, the Irish Chess Union has broadcasted all games online and two years ago they brought in a commentary team for the first time. Irish Chess Union looks forward to doing likewise this year with the support of sponsor Blackthorne International Transport and will be welcoming back a number of retired champions to play in the event and share their experiences of winning the Irish title.