Tata Steel Chess 2024 starts in Wijk aan Zee

The 86th edition of the Tata Steel Chess takes place from 12-28 January in Wijk aan Zee, the Netherlands.

The event features 14 super grandmasters who will compete in a 13-round round-robin tournament. The field is led by the reigning World Chess Champion GM Ding Liren (CHN, 2780).

The participants are:

  • GM Ding Liren (CHN, 2780)
  • GM Ian Nepomniachtchi (FIDE, 2769)
  • GM Alireza Firouzja (FRA, 2759)
  • GM Anish Giri (NED, 2749)
  • GM Praggnanandhaa R (IND, 2743)
  • GM Vidit Santosh Gujrathi (IND, 2742)
  • GM Parham Maghsoodloo (IRI, 2740)
  • GM Wei Yi (CHN, 2740)
  • GM Nodirbek Abdusattorov (UZB, 2727)
  • GM Gukesh D (IND, 2725)
  • GM Jorden Van Foreest (NED, 2682)
  • GM Alexander Donchenko (GER, 2643)
  • GM Max Warmerdam (NED, 2625)
  • GM Ju Wenjun (CHN, 2549)
Photo by Tata Steel Chess/Jurriaan Hoefsmit

The rate of play will be 100 Minutes for 40 moves, followed by 50 minutes for 20 moves, then 15 minutes for the remaining moves with 30 seconds cumulative increment for each move starting from the first move.

The first round starts on Saturday, 13th of January, at 14:00 CET. Live games can be followed through the official website of the event.

Simultaneously with the Tata Steel Chess Masters 2023, Wijk aan Zee will host the Tata Steel Chess Challengers tournament. The field consists of a mix of established players and promising young talents. 

The participants are: GM Anton Korobov (UKR, 2667), GM Hans Niemann (USA, 2659), GM Mustafa Yilmaz (TUR, 2650), GM Saleh Salem (UAE, 2635), GM Jaime Santos Latasa (ESP, 2635), GM Erwin L’Ami (NED, 2628), GM Leon Luke Mendonca (IND, 2614), GM Daniel Dardha (BEL, 2575), GM Marc Andria Maurizzi (FRA, 2572), GM Liam Vrolijk (NED, 2569), GM Harika Dronavalli (IND, 2509), IM Stefan Beukema (BEL, 2437), IM Divya Deshmukh (IND, 2418) and IM Eline Roebers (NED, 2385).

Photo by Tata Steel Chess 2023/Jurriaan Hoefsmit

Official website of the event