European Youth Chess Champions 2023 crowned in Mamaia, Romania

The European Youth Chess Championship 2023 concluded yesterday in Mamaia, Romania.

Mahammad Kazimzade (AZE) emerged as the winner of the Open U8 section having better tiebreaks than Luca Protopopescu (FRA) who had the same score of 7.5 points but claimed bronze. Three players tied for bronze scoring 7 points, each, but Kucher Artam (UKR) won the medal thanks to the best tiebreak criteria.

Ahmadli Mehriban (AZE) triumphed in the Girls U8 category with the score of 7.5 points. She was followed by three players who tied for second place with 7 points each. Tiebreaks determined Kravchuk Daria (UKR) as silver medalist, Rekviashvili Mariam (GEO) took bronze medal and Badescu Eliza-Ioana (ROU) finished the event fourth.

Vladimir Sofronie (ROU) emerged as the sole winner of the Open U10 category scoring 7.5 points. Four players tied for silver with 7 points, each, and the tiebreak criteria again determined the medalists. Marc Llari (FRA) came second, Uzdemir Ali Poyraz (TUR) won bronze, Nicot Valentin (FRA) was fourth and Brzezina Pawel (POL) came fifth.

With the score of 7.5 points, Maria Anistoroaei (ROU) triumphed in the Girls U10 section, while three players scored 7 points each to tie for the second place. Lilian Schirmbeck (GER) had the best tiebreak criteria to claim silver medal, Kaminska Zuzanna (POL) came third and Lampou Marianta (GRE) finished the event in the fourth place.

FM Ahmad Khagan (AZE, 2306) won the Open U12 competition having better tiebreaks than FM Tudor Henry Edward (ROU, 2261). They scored 7.5 points each, and Nemitz Alfred (GER, 2300) and Ambartsumian Tyhran (ARM, 1877) followed with 7 points, each. Nemitz Alfred had better tiebreaks and won bronze medal.

Lajdamik Kinga (POL, 1552) emerged as the sole winner of the Girls U12 section with the score of 7.5 points, while four players tied for second place with 7 points, each. Ejsymont Blanka (POL) had best tiebreaks and won silver medal and WCM Bashirli Saadat (AZE, 1559) clinched bronze.

The 41st seed on the starting list of the Open U14 section Rustamov Rustam (AZE, 1995) won the competition with fantatic score of 8 points. FM Agasarov Benik (ARM, 2321) came second with 7.5 points, and Lissillour Baptiste (FRA, 2239) won bronze with 7 points.

In the Girls U14 section, Kesaria Mgeladze (GEO, 1994) emerged as the sole winner of the event scoring 7.5 points. Three players scored 7 points each to tie for silver, but Tsetskhladze Mariam (GEO, 1842) had the best tiebreak criteria and came second, while Moskalets Sofiia (UKR, 1908) took bronze.

As many as five players in the Open U16 section tied for the first place scoring 7 points each, and tiebreaks determined the Winner and medalists. FM Jakub Seemann (POL, 2422) won gold, FM Diego Macias Pino (ESP, 2438) came second, FM Nemec Jachym (CZE, 2332) claimed bronze, FM Makridis Dimitrios (GRE, 2354) finished fourth, and FM Makkar Rajat (FRA, 2451) came fifth.

WFM Ter-Avetisjana Agnesa Stepania (LAT, 2080) clinched gold in the Girls U16 category with the score of 7.5 points. Baloglu Dila (TUR, 1874) followed with 7 points and claimed silver medal, while four players scored 6.5 points each to tie for bronze. With the best tiebreaks, Siekanska Maria (POL, 1995) came third.

FM Davtyan Arsen (ARM, 2430) won the Open U18 championship with the score of 8 points. IM Babazada Khazar (AZE, 2463) and IM Abdrlauf Elham (NOR, 2541) tied for silver, scoring 7 points, each. However, with better tiebreak criteria, IM Babazada Khazar came second, and IM Abdrlauf Elham won bronze medal.

WFM Martyna Wikar (POL, 2136) won gold in the Girls U18 section with 7.5 points. WFM Allahverdiyeva Ayan (AZE, 2169) followed and claimed silver with 7 points, while Cornileau Juliette (FRA, 1997) and Ivanytska Liudmyla (UKR, 1965) tied for bronze with 6.5 points, each. Cornileau Juliette had better tiebreaks and came third.

All results and final rankings of each section can be found here.

The European Youth Chess Championship 2023 took place from 4th-15th September in Mamaia, Romania, with the participation of more than 900 players coming from 46 European federations.

Official website of the event