The 17th European Individual Women’s Chess Championship 2016 starts today in Mamaia, the largest and best known resort on Romanian Riviera.


112 players from 27 countries registered for the Championship, among whom 4 GMs, 30 WGMs and 104 international title holders in total.

The top seeds of the Championship are: GM Antoaneta Stefanova (Bulgaria, 2004-2006 World Champion, 2002 European Champion), IM Lela Javakhisvili (Georgian #2 and current national Champion, ELO 2493), WGM Natalija Pogonina (Russia #3, World Cup 2015 finalist, ELO 2490), IM Elisabeth Paehtz (Germany #1, ELO 2489), GM Anna Ushenina (Ukraine, 2012-2013 World Champion), IM Ekaterina Atalik (Turkey, 2006 European Champion), WGM Aleksandra Goryachkina (RUS 2485), etc.


The Romanian delegation consists of 14 players, among whom: IM Corina Peptan (multiple World Junior Champion, ELO 2402), IM Irina Bulmaga (bronze medalist at the Chess Olympiade in Tromso 2014, ELO 2360), WGM Cosma Elena Luminita (former World Youth Champion,  bronze medalist at the Chess Olympiade in 1988, four time medalist of the European Team Championships, ELO 2333), IM Cristina Foisor (World Cup 2016 qualifier, silver medalist at 1997 European Team Championship, ELO 2322), WGM Mihaela Sandu (2246), WIM Angela Dragomirescu (2215) and WGM Irina Ionesco (2181). They are joined by promising juniors Andreea-Marioara Cosman, Andreea-Cristina Nastase, Andreea-Briana Stanciu, , Emilia-Florentina Coman, Cîmpean Andra and Maria Anghel, and veteran Aurelia Pancu.

Starting rank and pairings

The championship will be played according to the Swiss system in 11 rounds, with time control 90 minutes for 40 moves plus 30 minutes for the rest ofthe game with an increment of 30 seconds per move, starting from move one.


The 17th Individual European Chess Championship for women is qualification event for the next World Women Championship. According to FIDE regulations and the decision of the ECU Board, 14 players will qualify.

The prize fund of the Championship is 60.000 EUR with the first prize 11.000 EUR.

The championship takes place at the 4 **** complex Comandor-Amiral, 26 May – 8 June, 2016.

Round 1 starts at 3.00 pm local time. LIVE games can be followed on the Official website, or through the ECU website, with our new LIVE feature.