European Senior Chess Championships 2023 concluded in Acqui Terme, Italy

The European Senior Chess Championships 2023 concluded yesterday in Acqui Terme, Italy, with the closing and award ceremony for the Winners.

The event was played in two age categories: 50+ and 65+, with separate women’s competition in 50+ category. Women’s 65+ section was merged with the Open, and the best ranked female players were crowned European Women’s 65+ Champions.

It was a very tight race for the top of the 50+ Open competition. Five players were in the lead heading into the last round which determined the medalists. After 9 played rounds, as many as seven players tied for first place scoring 6.5 points, each. Tiebreak criteria favored GM Zurab Sturua (GEO, 2518), IM Fabrizio Bellia (ITA, 2393) came second and IM Jose Antonio Lacasa Diaz (ESP, 2359) won bronze.

WGM Marina Makropoulou (GRE, 2081) won the Women’s 50+ event with a round to spare! She scored 6.5/9 points to be a point and a half of the runner-ups. WFM Olga Birkholz (GER, 2005) and Ni Polina (1892) tied for silver, but Birkholz Olga had better tiebeaks and clinched silver, and Polina Ni came third.

It was a very intense final round in the Open 65+ tournament which finished with a lot of decisive results and five-way tie for the top! Five players scored 7/9 points, each, and waited for tiebreaks to determine the medalists. GM John Nunn (ENG, 2579) had the best tiebreak criteria and clinched gold medal, GM Jose Luis Fernandez Garcia (ESP, 2370) came second and GM Lubomir Ftacnik (SVK, 2456) claimed bronze. FM Terry Chapman (ENG, 2204) and Wolfgang Polster (GER, 2189) finished in 4th and 5th position, respectively.

WGM Gisela Fischdick (GER, 2205) was the best-ranked female player in the tournament with a score of 6 points and claimed the title of European Women’s 65+ Chess Champion 2023. The chess legend, GM Nona Gaprindashvili (GEO, 2274) suffered an unfortunate loss in the last round against GM John Nunn, fighting for the very top of the standings. With 5.5 points, Gaprindashvili Nona took silver medal, while WFM Mira Kierzek (GER, 1955) won bronze with 4.5 points.

All results and rankings can be found here.

The Closing Ceremony of the event was held yesterday evening with the attendance of the ECU Vice President Mr. Jean Michel Rapaire.

Official website of the event