European Senior Chess Champions 2022 crowned in Lublin, Poland

European Senior Chess Championship 2022 concluded yesterday in Lublin, Poland. The event took place from 4th-14th July, 2022, being played in two age categories 50+ and 65+, with separate prizes for female players.

The Closing Ceremony of the event took place yesterday evening, with Chief Arbiter Tomasz Delega announcing the Winners. Paweł Zaskalski – Vice President of the Polish Chess Federation joined the awarding ceremony.

After 9 played rounds, GM Martin Mrva (SVK, 2385) clinched the title of European Senior Chess Champion 50+. He scored 7 points to be the sole winner of the event, while two players tied for silver with 6.5 points each: CM Klimaszewski Dariusz (POL, 2096) and FM Lasinskas Povilas (LTU, 2096). Klimaszewski Dariusz had better tiebreaks and claimed silver medal and Lasinskas Povilas came third.

The best ranked female player of 50+ section WIM Teraladze Sopiko (GEO, 2141) scored 5.5 points and became European Women Senior 50+ Champion. WIM Leszner Liliana (POL, 1872) was second with 5 points and Baliuniene Margarita (LTU, 1935) won bronze with 4.5 points.

IM Renman Nils-Gustaf (SWE, 2311) triumphed in the 65+ category with a convincing score of 7.5 points. FM Chapman Terry P D (ENG, 2207) won silver with 6.5 points, while four players tied for the third place with 6 points each. FM Stebbings Anthony J (ENG, 2283) had best tiebreak criteria to win bronze medal.

WIM Wagner-Michel Annett (GER, 2056) became European Women Senior 65+ Champion as she scored 4.5 points to be the best female player in the 65+ category. WFM Kasprzyk Irena (POL, 2017) was second with 4 points, and WFM Sosnowska Elzbieta (POL, 1726) cliched bronze with 3.5 points.

Final rankings and results can be found here.

Official website of the event