Everything is set for European ACP Women’s Rapid and Blitz Chess Championships 2018 which start tomorrow and will be held from 29th March-2nd April in Tbilisi, the capital of Georgia.

The first on schedule will be the Rapid competition which will be played on 30th and 31st of March. The European ACP Women Rapid Championship will be played according to the Swiss system in 11 rounds, with time control 15 minutes+10 seconds per move starting from the move one.

The event will continue with European ACP Women Blitz Championship which will be played on 1st of April in 13 rounds according to the Swiss system, with the time control 3 minutes+2 seconds per move starting from the first move.

The total prize fund of the event will be 20.500 EUR, with 14.500 EUR reserved for the Rapid Championship and 6.000 EUR reserved for the Blitz Championship. Besides the regular prizes, the best Junior player, the best Senior players will be awarded, as well as the best players who are the members of the Association of Chess Professionals (ACP).


82 players coming from 15 European federations will participate the events. The competitions will be very strong since the competitors are 11 Grand Masters, 20 International Masters, 1o Women Grand Masters, 7 Women International Masters and in total 58 titled players!

The battlefield of the rapid competition is led by the reigning European ACP Women’s Rapid Champion and former World Women’s Rapid Chess Champion, Anna Muzychuk (UKR, 2611 Rapid rtg). The next four top seeded players are: Lagno Kateryna (RUS, 2533 Rapid rtg), Dzagnidze Nana (GEO, 2515 Rapid rtg), Kosteniuk Alexandra (RUS, 2515 Rapid rtg), Gunina Valentina (RUS, 2500 Rapid rtg), Ushenina Anna (UKR, 2483 Rapid rtg), Khotenashvili Bela (GEO, 2480) etc.

List of registered players- Rapid


Top players of the European ACP Women’s Blitz Chess Championship are: Dzagnidze Nana (GEO, 2580 Blitz rtg), Lagno Kateryna (RUS, 2574 Blitz rtg), Gunina Valentina (RUS, 2559 Blitz rtg), Kosteniuk Alexandra (RUS, 2559 Blitz rtg), Muzychuk Anna (UKR, 2545 Blitz rtg), Stefanova Antoaneta (ECU, 2507 Blitz rtg), Ushenina Anna (UKR, 2469 Blitz rtg) etc.

List of registered players- Blitz

Both events will be held in “Hotel Iota” as the official venue and the official hotel of the Championships.

Facebook page of the Competition