Artemiev Vladislav (RUS, 2736) became the Winner of European Individual Chess Championship 2019 with a score of 8.5 points.


Artemiev tied for the first place with Nils Grandelius (SWE, 2694), who had the same score, but the average rating of the opponents decided that Artemiev is the new European Individual Chess Champion.

In the last, 11th round, of the event, Grandelius took a victory against Gledura Benjamin (HUN, 2630) with black pieces, after Gledura made an unsound sacrifice of an exchange. With this victory, Grandelius took the silver medal.


Artemiev Vladislav held a draw in a slightly worse position, with black pieces, against Rodshtein Maxim (ISR, 2673). The draw was enough for Artemiev to become the European Individual Chess Champion 2019.

Nine players tied for the third place: Piorun Kacper (POL, 2631), Rodshtein Maxim (ISR, 2673), Berkes Ferenc (HUN, 2666), Anton Guijarro David (ESP, 2643), Nisipeanu Liviu-Dieter (GER, 2670), Movsesian Sergei (ARM, 2627), Huschenbeth Niclas (GER, 2594), Oparin Grigoriy (RUS, 2613) and Safarli Eltaj (AZE, 2662), each with 8 points.

According to the tiebreak criteria, Piorun Kacper (POL, 2631) took the bronze medal.

Final rankings

Piorun Kacper

The best-ranked women player was Goryachkina Aleksandra (RUS, 2504) with 6.5 points, while Protopopova Anastasiya (RUS, 2263) and Osmak Iulija (UKR, 2399) tied for the second place, each with 5.5 points. According to the average rating of the opponents, Protopopova took the silver, while Osmak Iulija took the third place.

the best ranked women players

The best Senior player was Gelfand Boris (ISR, 2655) with 7.5 points. The second place came to Dreev Aleksey (RUS, 2622) and the bronze came to Georgiev Kiril (MKD, 2595) with a score of 7 points.


Besides the special prizes for the best-ranked Women player, Junior, and Senior, the best ranked six players, members of the Association of Chess Professionals took the special ACP prizes: Rakhmanov Aleksandr (RUS, 2629), Bartel Mateusz (POL, 2600), Lupulescu Constantin (ROU, 2611), Dreev Aleksey (RUS, 2662), Fridman Daniel (GER, 2633) and Vallejo Pons Francisco (ESP, 2698).


The Closing ceremony of the event took place yesterday evening in the official hotel of the event- Double Tree by Hilton. The ceremony has started with the speech of the President of the Chess Federation of North Macedonia, Mr. Blagoja Bogoevski, who greeted the attendees and thanked the European Chess Union for the organization of the event.


After the awarding ceremony, the President of European Chess Union, Mr. Zurab Azmaiparashvili, officially declared the event closed.

President of ECU

The 20th edition of European Individual Chess Championship 2019 took place from 17th-30th March in Skopje, North Macedonia.