Armenia wins European Pairs Chess Championship 2023

The 1st European Pairs Chess Championship, an official side event of the European Games Krakow-Malopolska 2023, concluded yesterday in Poland!

The event was held in two phases: qualification and playoffs, and the individual medalists were determined by the playoffs in each section (Open and Women’s). The combined Pair medals were decided by the final position of the players of each team after the playoffs in each section (sum of points): 1st 8-points, 2nd 7points, 3rd 6-points, 4th 5-points, 5th 4-points, 6th 3 points, 7th 2-points, and 8th 1-point. 

The team of Armenia, represented by GM Shant Sargsyan and IM Elina Danielian, emerged as the Winner of the event scoring 15 points. The Netherlands clinched silver with 14 points with GM Benjamin Bok and IM Eline Roebers in the team, while Azerbaijan came third with 13 points, represented by GM Shakhriyar Mamedyarov and IM Gunay Mammadzada.

After a good performance in the qualification stage, GM Benjamin Bok entered the playoffs as the lowest rated player to fight for the top. With two convincing 2-0 victories against GM Shakhriyar Mamedyarov and GM Shant Sargsyan, Benjamin Bok clinched the individual gold medal. GM Shant Sargsyan came second and GM Shakhriyar Mamedyarov won bronze.

GM Elina Danielian emerged as the Winner in the Women’s event defeating IM Marsel Efroimski and IM Gunay Mammadzada with perfect 2-0 result in both matches. IM Gunay Mammadzada claimed silver and IM Eline Roebers came third.

All results can be found here, and the final standings can be seen below.

The 3 winners of the Open, Women’s and Combine Pair sections received gold, silver and bronze medals, the same as the European Olympic Games medals.

The Closing ceremony of the event took place after the games with the presence of the deputy CEO of the 2023 European Games Mr. Janusz Koziol, the ECU Deputy President Mrs. Dana Reiznece-Ozola, ECU Vice Presidents Mr. Alojzije Jankovic and Mr. Gunnar Bjornsson, ECU Secretary General Mr. Theodoros Tsorbatzoglou, FIDE Secretary General Mr. Lukasz Turlej, and head of the Malopolska Chess Association Ms. Kamila Kałużna-Turcza.

The event was broadcasted live through the ECU YouTube channel with commentaries by WGM Keti Tsatsalashvili and WIM Fiona Steil-Antoni.

Photo gallery: