Only 2 rounds before the end of the European Individual Chess Championship 2018, four players lead the race for the top of this prestigious European event, which takes place in Batumi, Georgia. The ninth round opened by the Latvian Minister of Finance and Women Grand Master Dana Reizniece-Ozola.

After nine rounds, many interesting games and surprising results, Wojtaszek Radoslav (POL, 2738), Jones Gawain C B (ENG, 2651), Korobov Anton (UKR, 2664) and Matlakov Maxim (RUS. 2707) tie for the first place, each with 7 points.

After bad start, and only 2 points out of 4 games, Matlakov Maxim, European Individual Chess Champion for 2017, won 5 games in a row to be one of the leaders and favorites for winning the Championship. Wojtaszek Radoslav suffered a huge upset when he lost a game in the 2nd round of the Championship, but until now, the loss didn’t happen again, which was enough for the current first place.

Meanwhile, Jones Gawain C B and Korobov Anton, keep the leadership without a single lost game, but each with 4 draws and 5 victories.

The path to the crown will be more than tough since 15 players lag behind of the leading four with 6.5 points each, which promises very intense finish of the event and not likely easy winning of the title of European Chess Champion 2018.

Ranking list 

The 10th round shall clarify the situation on the throne, since all the eyes will be turned on the clash of the leaders. 10th round starts today at 3 pm (local time) and can be followed through the official website of the event, or through the ECU website, section LIVE.

Top parings of the 10th round:

1 2 GM Wojtaszek Radoslaw 2738 7 7 GM Korobov Anton 2664 21
2 30 GM Jones Gawain C B 2651 7 7 GM Matlakov Maxim 2707 7
3 28 GM Piorun Kacper 2653 GM Navara David 2737 3
4 6 GM Mamedov Rauf 2709 GM McShane Luke J 2647 34
5 8 GM Dubov Daniil 2701 GM Sjugirov Sanan 2652 29
6 36 GM Guseinov Gadir 2646 GM Cheparinov Ivan 2693 10
7 11 GM Nabaty Tamir 2690 GM Safarli Eltaj 2639 40
8 51 GM Bok Benjamin 2622 GM Demchenko Anton 2672 18
9 84 GM Svane Rasmus 2587 GM Saric Ivan 2657 26
10 1 GM Jakovenko Dmitry 2746 6 GM Sarana Alexey 2577 92

Pairings of the 10th round

All the players enjoyed the rest day after the sixth round, while the youngest had the opportunity to play the simul on 24 boards against the President of the European Chess Union, Mr. Zurab Azmaiparashvili.

Yesterday, on 26th of March in Hotel Sheraton, the ECU Board, chaired by the President of the European Chess Union, Mr. Zurab Azmaiparashvili, started its meeting. Final decisions and the report from the ECU Board meeting will be published on the ECU website.


The European Individual Chess Championship 2018 is qualification event for the next World Cup, with total prize fund of 100.000 EUR. The event is played in 11 rounds by Swiss system, with time control 90 minutes for 40 moves plus 30 minutes for the rest of the game, with an increment of 30 seconds per move, starting from the move one.

Official Website of the Championship

Photo Gallery