IM Ulviyya Fataliyeva clinches European Women’s Chess Championship 2024

The European Women’s Chess Championship 2024 concluded yesterday in Rhodes, Greece.

IM Ulviyya Fataliyeva (AZE, 2377) emerged as the sole Winner of the event scoring impressive 8.5/10 points, without a single loss in the tournament.

The fight for the first place was widely opened in the last round, as the top-board saw the encounter between GM Nino Batsiashvili and IM Fataliyeva Ulviyya.

Fataliyeva needed a draw to clinch the event and entered the game well prepared for Black pieces. Batsiashvili spent time trying to find lines for a win, but the players eventually entered a drawish endgame and repeated moves to shake hands for a draw.

As many eight players scored 7.5 points each to tie for the second place: IM Nataliya Buksa (UKR, 2394), IM Lela Javakhishvili (GEO, 2447), GM Nino Batsiashvili (GEO, 2445), IM Irina Bulmaga (ROU, 2394), IM Gunay Mammadzada (AZE, 2436), FM Nadya Toncheva (BUL, 2258), IM Stavroula Tsolakidou (GRE, 2424) and IM Lilit Mkrtchian (ARM, 2366), and the tiebreak criteria determined the medalists.

Having the best tiebreaks, IM Nataliya Buksa claimed gold and IM Lela Javakhishvili won bronze medal.

Final results can be found here.

The ECU Commission for Women’s Chess introduced Excellence on Board Awards for five different categories: Commissions Choice, People’s Choice, Junior U20, player rated U2200 rating, and 2201+ rated player.

The Awards went to:

  • People’s choice 1st place: Kubicka Anna (game from round 8 Kubicka Anna – Narva Mai)
  • People’s choice 2nd place: Mihaela Sandu (game from round 9 Atalik Ekaterina – Sandu Mihaela)
  • Committees Choice: Sliwicka Alicja (game from round 7 Maltsevskaya Aleksandra – Sliwicka Alicja)
  • Junior U20: Nadya Toncheva
  • Player rated 2201+: Gunay Mammadzada
  • Player rated U2200: Sabina Ibrahimova

The Closing ceremony took place after the last round in the playing venue, with the attendance of the ECU Vice Presidents Alojzije Jankovic and Eva Repkova, the Vice Governor of South Aegean region Akis Delaportas, the Vice-rector of finance of Aegean University, Ioannis Seimenis, the Chairperson of the Greek Chess Federation Commission for Women’s Chess Maria-Anna Stefanidi, and other distinguished guests.

Video recap from the Closing ceremony:

Photo gallery from the closing ceremony can be found here.
Photos by Jim Laga