The 16th European Individual Women’s Chess Championship 2015 will be held in Chakvi, Adjara in Georgia, from May 18 (day of arrival) until May 31 (day of departure) 2015.

The Championship is organized by the government of Georgia, government of Adjarian Autonomous Republic and Georgian Chess Federation, under the auspices of European Chess Union.

The official venue of the tournament will be the hall in hotel “Oazis Palace Chakvi”.


100 players from 19 European countries have registered so far, among whom 9 GMs, 18 WGMs and 26 IMs.

The first seed is Georgian #1 GM Nana Dzagnidze (2570) followed by Georgian #2 GM Bela Khotenashvili (2527) and former World Champion and 2002 European Champion GM Antoaneta Stefanova (BUL 2512).

The Chief Arbiter is Tomasz Delega (POL), and the Chairperson of the Appeals Committee is Fiona Steil Antoni (LUX).

The championship will be played as a Swiss tournament in accordance with the ECU Tournament Rules and FIDE Rules of Chess. The time control will be 90 minutes for 40 moves, followed by 30 minutes for the rest of the game + 30 seconds increment per move, starting from move one.

The 16th European Individual Women’s Chess Championships is a qualification event for the next World Women Championship. According to FIDE regulations and the decision of the ECU Board, 14 players will qualify.

The first prize is 11.000 EUR, and the total prize fund is 60.000 EUR.