European Individual Chess Championship 2017 starts today in Minsk/Belarus with participation of 400 players!


The battlefield is led by Russian GM Dmitry Andreikin, followed by GM David Navara (CZE), GM Dmitry Jakovenko (RUS), GM Baadur Jobava (GEO), Yuriy Kryvoruchko (UKR), GM Ruslan Ponomariov (UKR), GM Maxim Matlakov (RUS), GM Arkadij Naiditsch (AZE), GM Maxim Rodstein (ISR), GM Evgeny Tomashevsky (RUS), GM Peter Leko (HUN), etc, who will all be competing for the prestigious title of the European Chess Champion.

The event attracted many women players who will  have a chance to fight in such a strong tournament. WGM Olga Girya (RUS), IM Elisabeth Paehtz (GER), WGM Aleksandra Goryachkina (RUS), WGM Jolanta Zawadzka (POL), IM Alisa Galliamova (RUS), IM Sabrina Vega Gutierrez (ESP), IM Ana Matnadze (ESP), IM Daria Charochkina (RUS), IM Meri Arabidze (GEO), Olga Badelka (BLR), etc, are the top women players in Minsk.

Starting Rank

Minsk Belarus

The championship will be played in 11-round Swiss system, with the time control 90 minutes for 40 moves plus 30 minutes for the rest of the game, with an increment of 30 seconds per move, starting from move one.

The total prize fund is 100 000 EUR, including the special prizes.

The European Individual Championship 2017 is a qualification event for the next World Cup. According to FIDE regulations and the decision of the ECU Board, 22 players will qualify. In case of equal score the qualification will be determined according to article 6.

The opening ceremony is scheduled for today at 8.00 pm (local time), and the first rounds starts on Tuesday, 30th May at 3.30 pm. The ECU President Zurab Azmaiparashvili will attend the opening ceremony and officially open the Championship.

The Championship takes place from 29th May to 11th June in the Sports Palace in Minsk.

The event is organized by  the National Olympic Committee of the Republic of Belarus, the Ministry of Sports and Tourism of the Republic of Belarus, Minsk City Executive Committee and Belarus Chess Federation under the auspices of the ECU.

Official Website

LIVE games