EUCC logo

The 1st European Chess Universities Championship will be held in Yerevan, Armenia from 6th to 11th October 2015.

The Championship is organized by the European University Sports Association, in cooperation with the Republic of Armenia Ministry of Education and Science, Armenian Student Sports Federation and Armenian Chess Federation. The event is included in the Official Calendar of the European Chess Union.

All players must be older than 17 and younger than 30 (born in the years 1985-1998). All the participants can represent only one (own) university, where they are registered as students.


There will be Open and Women’s competition, while the prizes will be counted for the best teams in the Open section, best teams in Women’s section, best individual players-men and best individual players-women. (only two best results of delegation (men and women separate) count for team competition).

18 teams in Open and 11 teams in Women’s section are registered. Poland registered the largest number of teams – 7 in total (4 in Open and 3 in Women). The host Armenia follows with 6 teams, 3 in each category, while Russia has 3 representatives in Open section, and 2 in Women.

A memorandum between the European Universities Sports Association (EUSA) and the European Chess Union was signed on Saturday 28th March, in Zagreb/Croatia, during the EUSA annual Gala. The memorandum represents the inclusion of chess in the official sports program of the EUSA annual events. Chess is the 19th sport included in EUSA competitions.

Official Website